Home News Walking Programme Contact Picture Gallery Footpath Group Useful Links

Erewash Ramblers

These walks will be added to the walking programme page as old walks drop off. Our walking programme is prepared twice a year, so this page will get gradually smaller until the next six-month schedule is planned.

Saturday 23 September. 10.30am. 5½ miles.

Dale Abbey and Locko Park. Meet at Dale Abbey, roadside parking. SK436389, DE7 4PP.

Leader Audrey Pilkington.


Monday 25 September. 10.30am. 6 miles.

Below Baslow Edge. Meet at Baslow car park, P&D. SK258721, DE45 1RU.

Leader Dennis Salisbury.


Wednesday 27 September. 10.30am. Short walk.

Trent Meadows. Meet Trent Meadows car park, Long Eaton. SK501329.

Leader Sandie Jones.


Sunday 1 October. 10.30am. 9 miles.

Castleton/Mam Tor/Losehill. Meet at Visitor Centre car park. Castleton. SK148830, S33 8WP. Leaders Jacqui & Royce Drew. (07592 263284)


Wednesday 4 October. 10.30am. Short walk.

Mapperley. Meet at Newdigate Arms Pub, West Hallam. SK445423.

Leader Sandie Jones.


Thursday 5 October. 10.30am 6½ miles.

Ticknall & Milton. Meet at Ticknall Village Hall. SK352242, DE73 7JX.

Leader Brian Bennett.


October 6th – 9th. Weekend away to Belford, Northumbria.


Monday 9 October. 10.30am. 5½ miles.

Shardlow Area. Meet at Shardlow Wharf car park. SK446305.

Leader Brian Bennett.


Wednesday 11 October. 10.30am. Short walk.

Draycott Area. Meet at car park behind fish bar, Draycott. SK442333.

Leader Brian Marshall.


Area Get Together Sunday 15 October. 10.00am. Choice of 6, 9, or 12 miles.

Meet at Rowsley Old Station car park. SK258658, DE4 2EL. All groups meet up for lunch break at Birchover reading rooms.


Wednesday 18 October. 10.30am. Short walk.

Dale Abbey Area. Meet Potato Pit Lane. SK443385.

Leader Brian Bennett.


AGM and Evening Social Wednesday 18 October. 7.30pm

AGM followed by free buffet. Please try to attend this important event.

West Hallam Village Hall.


Thursday 19 October. 10.30am. 7 miles.

Beacon Hill Area. Meet at Outwoods car park. SK515160, LE11 3YG.

Leader Barry Wallace.


Saturday 21 October. 10.30am. 5 miles.

Mapperley. Meet at Newdigate Inn, West Hallam. SK443421, DE7 6HX.

Leader Sandie Jones.


Monday 23 October. 10.30am. 7 miles

Erewash Canal and Shipley Boat. Meet off Beauvale Drive, Cotmanhay. SK464440, DE7 8RR.

Leaders Pauline Watson and Stevie Watkins. (07887 361071 or 07797 125491)


Wednesday 25 October. 10.30am. Short walk.

Stanton Gate. Roadside parking. SK482392.

Leader Joyce Mold


Sunday 29 October. 10.00am (NB). 8 miles

Belper Area. Meet at Belper free c/park off Market Place. SK351474, DE56 1FZ.

Leader Joyce Mold. Distance 8 miles.


Thursday 2 November. 10.30am. 6 miles

Bradgate Park. Meet at Swithland Wood South Car Park (honesty box). SK537117, LE12 8TN.

Leader Steve Tunstall.


Saturday 4 November. 10.30am. 7 miles.

Ticknall and Hartshorne. Meet at Ticknall Village Hall. SK352242, DE73 7JX.

Leader Brian Bennett.


Monday 6 November. 10.30am. 7 miles.

Kelstedge & Spitewinter. Meet at Ashover Parish Hall. SK351632, S45 0AD.

Leaders Brian and Yvonne Ashby.


Wednesday 8 November. 10.30am. Short walk.

Allestree Park. Meet Woodlands car park. SK340403.

Leader Alan Brown.


Sunday 12 November. 10.00am. 8 miles.

Hartington, Pilsbury, and the Upper Dove. Meet village centre SK127603.

Leaders Jacqui & Royce Drew. (07592 263284)


Evening Social Wednesday 15 November. 7.30pm.

Derby’s White Chapel” - presentation by Jane Whitaker.

West Hallam Village Hall.


Thursday 16 November. 10.30am. 6 miles.

Cromford, Bow Wood, Black Rocks. Meet at Cromford Meadows car park, P&D. 2 steep climbs. SK300571, DE4 3RQ (nearest).

Leader Alan Brown.


Saturday 18 November. 10.30am. 5½ miles.

Ockbrook/Dale Abbey circular. Meet at Queens Head, Ockbrook. SK421357, DE72 3RA.

Leader Christine Johnstone.


Monday 20 November. 10.30am. 7 miles.

High Peak Trail. Monyash & Flagg. Meet at Hurdlow car park. SK128659, SK17 9QJ (nearest).

Leader Marilyn Brown.


Wednesday 22 November. 10.30am. Short walk

Risley. Meet Risley Park Inn. SK458356.

Leader Brian Bennett.


Sunday 26 November. 10.00am, 8 miles

Smalley & Horsley Castle. Meet at Stainsby Hall Cricket Club, Off Dobholes Lane. SK404446, DE7 6EL (nearest).

Leader Robert Mee.


Thursday 30 November. 10.30am. 6½ miles.

Lawrence’s ’Country of my Heart’. Meet at Greasley Church layby (B600). SK490472, NG16 2AB.

Leader Alan Brown.


Saturday 2 December. 10.30am. 5 miles.

Shipley Park. Meet at Visitors Centre car park (P&D). SK431454, DE75 7GX.

Leader Marilyn Brown.


Monday 4 December. 10.30am. 6½ miles.

Battle of Bosworth Field. Meet at Sutton Cheney Wharf Bridge (P&D). SP410994, CV13 0AL.

Leaders Brian & Yvonne Ashby.


Wednesday 6 December. 10.30am. Short walk.

Shipley Park. Meet Heanor Gate entrance. SK431452.

Leader Alan Brown.


Sunday 10 December. 10.00am. 9 miles.

Riber/Matlock/Lumsdale/Cocking Tor. Meet at Scotland Nursery. SK339598, DE4 5GF.

Leaders Brian & Yvonne Ashby.


Christmas Lunch Thursday 14 December. 1.00pm lunch (10.30am for short walk).

Makeney Hall Hotel, Milford, DE56 0RS, 1.00pm.

Walk leader: Brian Marshall. Changing facilities are available. Non-diners welcome.

To book for the lunch, contact Sylvia Reid (01332 675696) - £10 deposit required.


Saturday 16 December. 10.30am. 4 miles

Bentley’s Plantation and Shipley Woods. Meet at Vicarage Street, Cotmanhay. SK460438, DE7 8ZN.

Leader Alan Brown.


Monday 18 December. 10.30am. 7 miles.

The Squires Walk. Meet at All Saints Church, Ockbrook. SK424357, DE72 3RB.

Leaders Iris and Eddie Foweather. (07586 831879)


Wednesday 20 December. 10.30am. Short walk,

Festive Walk. Meet Trent Lock car park, Long Eaton. SK489312.

Leader Sandie Jones.


Christmas Party Wednesday 20 December. 7.30pm

West Hallam Village Hall.


Thursday 28 December. 10.30am. 6 miles.

Draycott, Breaston, Church Wilne. Meet at C/P behind Draycott chip shop. SK442333, DE72 3NJ.

Leader David Bricknell.


Saturday 30 December. 10.30am. 5 miles.

Melbourne and Breedon on the Hill. Meet at Melbourne Market Place. SK386253, DE73 8DZ.

Leader Christine Williams.


Monday 1 January. 10.00am. Short walk

Annual New Years Day Walk. Meet at West Hallam Village Hall.

Soup and rolls at the Village Hall after the walk.

Please book before hand.


Saturday 20 January. Derbyshire area AGM meeting. Derby & S Derbyshire group.

Spondon Village Hall. 12:00 to 16:00.